Thursday, December 27, 2012

Oddbox Offers 45-song Compilation

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

To celebrate their impending 4th Birthday, Odd Box Records has collated a 45 song compilation - that's nearly a song from every release they've put out over the past 4 years.
It's available to download from the label's bandcamp page on a pay what you want deal (including zero!).

DIYPOP - Not Part Of Your Scene
01. The Give It Ups - Hey Shaggy 03:24
02. Sarandon - Expecting Joe 01:34
03. Sock Puppets - Because I Told You So 01:26
04. The Humms - No One Wants To Be Alone On Valentines Day 03:40
05. Anguish Sandwich - Leave My Brain Alone 01:41
06. The Hairs - Feeling A Lot Of Feelings 01:50
07. The Manhattan Love Suicides - I'm Not A Young Man Anymore (Mono) 07:04
08. PinkShinyUltraBlast - Blaster 03:24
09. The Crack Babies - America 02:43
10. The Vignettes - Baby Angel Boy 01:12
11. Martha - Standing Where It All Began 02:15
12. One Happy Island - How To Hurt 03:12
13. T.O.Y.S - Mirror 02:51
14. Ace Bushy Striptease - My Hand Could Be Your Wife 02:24
15. Falling and Laughing - Roly Poly 02:40
16. The Blanche Hudson Weekend - To Be That Way Again (Single Edit) 04:39
17. Liars Beware - Sofa Bed 03:22
18. Bracelettes - Those Days 02:51 \
19. Proto Idiot - Release 02:11
20. Baaneex - Weird Dance 2 04:14
21. The Millipedes - Shake Your Bones 02:05
22. The Monorals - Surf On 03:59
23. Lovelust - Love On The Higher Planes 06:16
24. The Give It Ups - Knives Chau 03:13
25. Ace Bushy Striptease - Children's Eyelash Trimming Device 02:00
26. The Blanche Hudson Weekend - Some Kind Of Freedom 03:56
27. The Rosie Taylor Project - The Last Happy Writer 04:27
28. One Happy Island - White Collar Disco 03:04
29. Baaneex - Medieval Times 01:40
30. Chapter 24 - Spindle 01:44
31. Gold-Bears - You Don't Want A Boyfriend 02:50
32. Proto Idiot - When I Fall Asleep 02:08
33. Ace Bushy Striptease - EchoeseChoesecHoesechOesechoEsechoeS 00:59
34. Santa Monica Swim and Dive Club - False Start, My Heart 03:33
35. The Kick Inside - Oh, Vanity! 03:20
36. Pocketbooks - Sound Of The Carnival 04:23
37. Horowitz - Get Cleansed! 02:30
38. The Wednesday Club - Steven's House 02:28
39. The Smittens - The Garden (Mesclun Mix By Greg Davis) 03:55
40. Sarandon - Piglet 02:47
41. The Medusa Snare - I Saw You Look The Other Way 03:33
42. Ace Bushy Striptease - Good Ass, New 01:24
43. The Humms - Don't Think About Death 03:42
44. One Fathom Down - Breaking The Law 02:15
45. The Understudies - A Girl I Used To Knock About With 02:45

Monday, December 24, 2012

The Bennetts (Indie Pop)

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Thought I'd switch it up after several synthpop posts and offer some indie pop. This duo is from Athens, Greece and their record will be on Manic Pop!. This Minnesotan label (Facebook page / Twitter) is new to me, and I look forward to exploring more of their releases.

Saturday, December 22, 2012

Synthpop for your Saturday

Another spectacular one from New Arcades. This was just made available yesterday. That's three winning tracks from them. Let's hope for more!

I don't know anything about Racetrack, but I do know all the material on Soundcloud is worth a listen. I love this kind of sincere synthpop.

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Let Em Riot: more top-notch synthpop

 More insanely good synthpop. Reminds me of the best of the A Different Drum label's output. Let Em Riot are exactly what I want in the genre!

Monday, December 17, 2012

Introducing JP Rose (Synthpop)

The "Seascape EP" by Los Angeles artist JP Rose (Twitter) arrived in my in-box this morning. I had some paperwork to do, so I streamed it via Soundcloud. I was pleasantly surprised by the variety and the adherence to classic synthpop. I hope you'll take a listen! Two more excellent tracks are available on Soundcloud.

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Synthpop For Your Saturday

Some synthpop for your Saturday. First is New Jersey's "Only You" (Facebook)

Here is the newest Paper Plane Pilot song "Close Your Eyes". It's available for free.

Monday, December 10, 2012

Mesh announce new single

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Mesh is back with "Born To Lie", the first single from the new album "Automation Baby" due out next February. The single is to be released January 18 via Dependent in Europe and pre-orders of the single are already available.

1. Born To Lie (Single Version)
2. Born To Lie (Club Version)
3. Black Dog (Exclusive Track)
4. Born To Lie (Rotersand Re-Work)
5. Born To Lie (Remix by Blitzmaschine)

Thursday, December 6, 2012


Came across this from The New Division today and I find it particularly beautiful. Dreamy, atmospheric and bursting with that nostalgic energy.

Some other tunes I can recommend: